New Movies

Never Rarely Sometimes Always leads nominations for 2021 Film Independent Spirit Awards


The nominations for the thirty sixth annual Movie Unbiased Spirit Awards have been introduced immediately, with Eliza Hittman’s By no means Not often Typically All the time main the pack with seven nominations in whole together with Greatest Function, Greatest Director (Hittman) and Greatest Feminine Lead (Sidney Flanigan).

Nominated alongside By no means Not often Typically All the time for Greatest Function are Kelly Reichardt’s First Cow (three nominations in whole), George C. Wolfe’s Ma Rainey’s Black Backside (5 nominations), Lee Isaac Chung’s Minari (six nominations) and Chloe Zhao’s Nomadland (5 nominations). Take a look at all of the nominees right here…

Greatest Function
“First Cow”
“Ma Rainey’s Black Backside”
“By no means Not often Typically All the time”

Greatest Director
Lee Isaac Chung, “Minari”
Emerald Fennell, “Promising Younger Girl”
Eliza Hittman,” By no means Not often Typically All the time”
Kelly Reichardt, “First Cow”
Chloe Zhao, “Nomadland”

Greatest First Function
“I Carry You With Me”
“The 40 12 months Outdated Model”
“The Sound of Metallic”
“Miss Juneteenth”
“9 Days”

Greatest Feminine Lead
Nicole Beharie, “Miss Juneteenth”
Viola Davis, “Ma Rainey’s Black Backside”
Sidney Flanigan, “By no means Not often Typically All the time”
Julia Garner, “The Assistant”
Frances McDormand, “Nomadland”
Carey Mulligan, “Promising Younger Girl”

Greatest Male Lead
Riz Ahmed, “The Sound of Metallic”
Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Backside”
Rob Morgan, “Bull”
Steven Yeun, “Minari”
Adarsh Gourav, “The White Tiger”

Greatest Supporting Feminine
Alexis Chikaeze, “Miss Juneteenth”
Yeri Han, “Minari”
Valerie Mahaffey, French Exit”
Talia Ryder, “By no means Not often Typically All the time”
Yuh-jung Youn, “Minari”

Greatest Supporting Male
Colman Domingo, “Ma Rainey’s Black Backside”
Orion Lee, “First Cow”
Paul Raci, “Sound of Metallic”
Glynn Turmann, “Ma Rainey’s Black Backside”
Benedict Wong, “9 Days”

Greatest Screenplay
“Unhealthy Schooling”
“The Half of It”
“By no means Not often Typically All the time”
“Promising Younger Girl”

Greatest First Screenplay
Kitty Inexperienced, “The Assistant”
Noah Hutton, “Lapsis”
Channing Godfrey Peoples, “Miss Juneteenth”
Andy Siara, “Palm Springs”
James Sweeney, “Straight Up”

Greatest Cinematography
Jay Keitel, “She Dies Tomorrow”
Shabier Kirchner, “Bull”
Michael Latham, “The Assistant”
Hélène Louvart, “By no means Not often Typically All the time”
Joshua James Richards, “Nomadland”

Greatest Enhancing
“I Carry You With Me”
“The Invisible Man”
“By no means Not often Typically All the time”

Robert Altman Award
“One Evening in Miami”

Greatest Documentary
“Crip Camp”
“Dick Johnson Is Lifeless”
“The Mole Agent”

Greatest Worldwide Movie
“The Disciple”
“Evening of the Kings”
“Preparations to be Collectively for an Unknown Interval of Time”
“Quo Vadis, Aida?”

Piaget Producers Award
Kara Durrett
Lucas Joaquin
Gerry Kim

Somebody to Watch Award
David Midell, “The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain”
Ekwa Msangi, “Farewell Amor”
Annie Silverstein, “Bull”

More true Than Fiction Award
Cecilia Aldarondo, “Landfall”
Magnificence Bratton, “Pier Children”
Elizabeth Lo, “Stray”

John Cassavetes Awards
“The Killing of Two Lovers”
“La Leyenda Negra”
“Lingua Franca”
“Saint Frances”

Greatest New Non-Scripted or Documentary Collection
“Atlanta’s Lacking and Murdered: The Misplaced Youngsters”
“Metropolis So Actual”
“Immigration Nation”
“Love Fraud”
“We’re Right here”

Greatest Scripted Collection
“I Might Destroy You”
“Little America”
“Small Axe”
“A Trainer”

Greatest Feminine Efficiency in a Scripted Collection
Elle Fanning, “The Nice”
Shira Haas, “Unorthodox”
Abby McEnany, “Work in Progress
Maitreyi Ramakrishnan, “By no means Have I Ever”
Jordan Kristine Seamón, “We Are Who We Are”

Greatest Male Efficiency in a Scripted Collection
Conphidance, “Little America”
Adam Ali, “Little America”
Nicco Annan, “P-Valley”
Amit Rahav, “Unorthodox”
Harold Torres, “Zero, Zero, Zero”

Greatest Ensemble Forged in a New Scripted Collection
“I Might Destroy You”
Ensemble Forged: Michaela Coel, Paapa Essiedu, Weruche Opia
Stephen Wight

“The Spirit Awards are a time for us to return collectively – filmmakers and movie lovers alike – and rejoice the flicks, exhibits and performances which have sustained us by these extremely difficult occasions,” mentioned Movie Unbiased President Josh Welsh. “Whereas 2020 left lots to be desired, it was a tremendous 12 months for movie and TV. Visible storytellers with highly effective and distinctive voices introduced us a lot pleasure and light-weight throughout these tough months. We’re thrilled to share our nominations with the world, and I encourage everybody to affix Movie Unbiased and vote on the winners.”


The winners of the thirty sixth Movie Unbiased Spirit Awards can be introduced on Thursday April twenty second.


Supply through

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button